Artist Bio:

A composer of exceptionally varied and melodic talents, Michael Hoppé has a wide-ranging background in both popular and classical music, styles reflected by his extensive catalogue of recordings and compositions.

For 15 years, Hoppé was a senior executive at PolyGram, where he was responsible for bringing such diverse talent as Vangelis, Kitaro, The Who, Jean-Michael Jarre, and ABBA to the company. His endeavors in the music industry have brought him 15 gold and 4 platinum records. Since 1985, he has released more than a dozen solo albums including The Yearning (Stereo Review’s “CD Of The Year”), Afterglow (AFIM’s “Best New Age Album” of 2000), his spoken word/music collaboration with Tim Wheater, The Lover, (winner of the 2002 COVR Visionary Award), and 2004's Grammy-nominated Solace.

His music has been heard internationally and on numerous television programs, including HBO’s “The Sopranos” and the Oprah Winfrey Show. Hoppé’s music has also been used extensively by such renowned authors as Julia Cameron (“The Artist’s Way”), Sarah Breathnach (“Simple Abundance”) and Robert Cooper (“The Emotional Intelligence”) in their writings and workshops. Hoppé has scored feature films including “Misunderstood” (starring Gene Hackman) and the multi-award winning short “Eyes of the Wind” which reached the Oscar nomination short list. His recordings were also selected as the official music for The Palm Springs International Film Festival and The Santa Barbara International Film Festival, and appeared in an award-winning ALS Association TV spot, and in a National Breast Cancer Awareness PSA campaign featuring Naomi Watts. Hoppé’s songs have been recorded by a variety of singers and instrumentalists including Vangelis, Tim Wheater, Martin Tillmann, Zamfir, Frank Mills, Eliza Gilkyson, Cecilia, Louise Di Tullio, Lou Anne Neil, Eugene Fodor, Lily Haydn and many others.

Michael is the grandson of E.O. Hoppe, considered the most prominent photographer of the Edwardian era. His subjects feature a veritable who’s-who of the early 20th century, including Robert Frost, Kahlil Gibran, Albert Einstein, Marlene Dietrich, Mary Pickford, A.A. Milne, and H.M. Queen Elizabeth - the Queen Mother, among many others. E.O. Hoppe’s work provided the inspiration for five of Michael’s albums, The Yearning, The Dreamer, The Poet, Beloved and The Lover.


Napadogan Music / Beggars Group Canada is proud to present Michael Hoppé’s Requiem, the follow-up to 2003’s Grammy nominated, Solace. Featuring songs with music composed, arranged and produced by Michael, domestic pressings of ‘Requiem’ contain deluxe packaging that includes an essay, biographical information, and photos.

Cover art, a painting by Caspar David Friedrich entitled 'Large Enclosure', was personally selected by Michael to reflect his unique and powerful vision, a vision of hope and peace expressed through the power of music. The original piece resides at the Gemaldegalerie in Dresden, Germany.

Featured tracks from Requiem include the haunting ‘Introit’, ‘My Prayer’, and the angelic ‘Lacrimosa’, a highlight from Solace that served as the inspiration for the creation of Requiem; a song says “aspires to the divine”.

Recorded at Mansfield Studios in LA, musicians featured include Heidi Fielding (soprano), Dwain Briggs (tenor), who both appeared on Solace, Chris Bleth (oboe), Bernadette Allbaugh (clarinet), Lilly Hayden (violin), Michael Hoppé (keyboards), Alyssa Park (violin), youngest prize winner in the history of the Tchaikovsky International Competition, and Martin Tillmann, a highly sought after cellist who has worked closely with composer Hans Zimmer on many high profile film scores.

Michael Hoppé on Requiem:

Ever since I can remember, I have loved the musical setting of the requiem …wings for the passage of the soul. Mozart's glorious Requiem has always transported me, and led to my discovering other masterpieces in the genre, such as Verdi's dramatic work, and Faure's tranquil gem. Whether Brahms or John Rutter, Berlioz or Lloyd Webber, composers have always adapted the text, and I am no exception. I wanted REQUIEM to embrace intimacy, peace and serenity, and although it is not a complete setting of the Missa pro defunctis as stated in the Catholic liturgy, I have used the Latin text I felt represented these characteristics.

After my last album SOLACE, which includes 'Pie Jesu' and 'Lachrimosa', it seemed a natural next step to write and record REQUIEM. It is my hope the listener will enjoy the exquisite artistry of the soprano Heidi Fielding and tenor DwainBriggs heard in this work.

May their beautiful voices transport you to that deep tranquil place where the sublime is present, and peace embraced.

Select Discography:

REQUIEM (Napadogan Music / Beggars Group Canada)
Release Date: May 16, 2006

1. Introit
2. Kyrie
3. Sanctus
4. Lacrimosa
5. Pie Jesu
6. Agnus Dei
7. Lux Aeterna
8. In Paradisum
9. Agnus Dei Theme (Violin Version)
10. My Prayer

SOLACE (Napadogan Music / Beggars Group Canada)
Release Date: March 23, 2004

1. This Majestic Land (The Prague Symphony)
2. So You (with Martin Tillmann)
3. Romance For Violin and Orchestra (The Prague Symphony)
4. Lachrymosa (with Heidi Fielding)
5. Beloved (with Kenton Youngstrom)
6. Renouncement (The Prague Symphony)
7. Jude’s Theme (with Eugene Fodor)
8. Nimbus (The Prague Symphony)
9. Elegy (for Joan) (with Andrea Bauer)
10. Pie Jesu (with Heidi Fielding & Dwain Briggs)
11. Farewell (with Harold Moses & Heidi Fielding)
12. The Parting (Vangelis)